Some get it, some don’t

Posted: February 19, 2008 in Personal

It’s really amazing how some people/entities get it and some don’t. I want to immerse myself in social/new media in my whole life, as well as a career. Why not do what you love? Well I have been convinced that Central PA is by no means a place to accomplish that.

Case in point, the York Daily Record (YDR). This is a newspaer that I have never read, but they did find me online at Twitter. I am on twitter on a daily basis. Some would argue too much. To me there is no such thing. It’s a way I can keep in touch with internet friends or contacts. I was surprised when the started following me on Twitter. Naturally I followed them as well. Well, it turns out the YDR is not interested in social networking. They use Twitter to spam followers about articles on their website.

Out local NBC affiliate is starting to get it. WGAL, recently added a new “web 2.0” service. This is being heavily advertised during their news broadcasts. The basic premise is that they get local students to report from the games of their individual schools. The reports are then posted to a special website. This is a neat idea and it will be interesting to see how it plays out.

90.7 WXIN-FM in RI really gets it. Tonight I actually listened to the radio for the first time in a long while. You may ask if the stations are so bad in Central PA that I had to listen to a Rhode Island college station? That is not the case, but the stations here are pretty lacking. Actually my favorite singer Matthew Ebel was on live. Matt is an independent artist that just moved from Nashville to Boston. If you know me in any respect you know that I am a huge fan of his. I let the guy sleep on our couch! He was at the radio station promoting his new album Goodbye Planet Earth. The station has the forward thinking to air the whole broadcast on Ustream. This way, Matt’s fans around the globe can log in and check it out. This station gets why New Media can help them. Maybe it has to do with the fact that they are college radio, maybe because they are young, maybe because they are not mainstream.

Still, I am surrounded online by many great social/new media minds. I can’t help but think that I should be surrounded in real life by the same.

Comments
  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Randy Nichols.

  2. I made this same complaint in my blog the other day. With no one using Twitter in the area, it’s hard for local reporters to use Twitter in any way other than as a link dump. It sucks — if there was a huge pool of users like you then it’d be a great reporting resource — but until then, what are we to do?

  3. Brian Polensky says:

    Twitter in my opinion, is definitely not for a link dump. You should/can share links, which is great, but it is capable of so much more. Maybe if we can get some sort of Social Media presence or group in the area, more people will start using twitter and it can be a better tool for “old” media.

  4. […] about the lack of bloggers/social media users in the area — two of the few we have, Brian Polensky and Jersey Mike — beat me to […]

  5. I’m glad that Daniel Victor has started his set of posts about Twitter and the news organizations, and you’re saying the same things. It’s good to have two local voices make the point. I find the news stations around here sometimes kind of lacking, along with the radio stations.

    I drove out to “The Middle of Nowhere” Illinois last summer to help a friend and I was amazed at how *good* the radio stations were out there. Easily 10 times better than what we’ve got here. Makes me depressed just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

